Disaster Has Struck

I ran out of my favourite tea a little while ago. THE HORROR. Then suddenly inspiration for a new Esperanto word accosted me:

“La senteosentaĉo.”

Which means:

“The terrible feeling of being without tea”

“Sento” is a feeling or sentiment.

One can make a word have a feeling of awfulness or contempt by inserting the suffix “-aĉ”.

“Sentaĉo” = “Awful/terrible feeling”

The word “teo” means “tea”, and the word “sen” means “without”. Often when you combine it with a word, it adds something like the English “-less” suffix.

E.g.

“helpa” = helpful

“senhelpa” = helpless, without help

Therefore “senteo” = “tea-less, without tea”

So “senteo” + “sentaĉo” = an awful feeling characterised by being without tea!

4 thoughts on “Disaster Has Struck

  1. “senhelpa” = helpless, without help

    Therefore “senteA” = “tea-less, without tea”

    So how about using 2 words; “sentea sentaĉo”. The should be easier to understand, even in spoken Esperanto, as the “te” will get a full word stress.

    Like you I tend to add English suffixes (especially -ness) with abandon, so I love the freedom to do that in Esperanto. Nevertheless, although a reader can figure out the meaning, I have to wonder how practical novel and unusual root combinations would be in normal-speed speech. (I say “would be” because I am far from able to have a normal-speed conversation at this point!)

    I am looking forward to reading your blog, as I too have been bitten by the Esperanto bug. Dankan!

    • I like it 🙂 Very clear indeed.

      I do tend to go a little overboard with my words, because I spend most of my time writing rather than speaking, where the reader has more time to digest the information!

      But your intuition is correct I think, your way is much simpler to understand!

      Feel free to comment/ask questions about any of my posts, no matter how old!

      Did you also notice that Esperanto is now on Duolingo?!

  2. I have always considered my wife to be a “kaftrinkemulineto”, a little [female] coffee-drinking addict.
    The nice thing about Esperanto (_one_ of the nice things) is that very often, when you do not know a word for this or that, you can make up a descriptive compound which will be understood by most.
    And by the way, I have added your blog to my Google Reader to be always up to date. Dankon!

    • Haha! It is indeed a wonderful trait! I think I have annoyed many a friend by hesitating on a sentence for a moment, and then declaring that I can think of the perfect constructed Esperanto word for the idea I’m thinking of 😀

      Awesome! Koran Dankon!

Leave a Reply

